Embracing the Glorious Solitude

By Loveallie Lao

 

 

Language… has created the word “loneliness” to express the pain of being alone. And it has created the word “solitude” to express the glory of being alone.   ~ Paul Tillich ~

 

I am alone, in a solitary confinement of my own room. I like it this way. Some people might think that I am lonely. I am not, I am just alone. Only woeful people who enclose themselves, who cannot start and build relationships with other people feel lonely.

 

Loneliness is neither negative nor positive. But loneliness can become emotionally painful and tormenting, when we add intense longing and wistfulness for our life to be different from our current circumstances. For example, you are currently single but you desperately want to be in a relationship. Another example, you are married but your husband/wife is physically present, but mentally and emotionally absent. That’s where loneliness is felt.

 

Loneliness can only be felt by someone with inactive mind. But if you were bustling and occupied, you wouldn’t have the time to get lonely.

 

Keep yourself open, even when you’re living alone you can still live a full life. Open your heart to others, get busy, then you’ll be able to eliminate loneliness. Open your mind to look for what you might treasure about being alone, it can become glorious solitude.

 

Some people treasure and enjoy being single. For them it’s that glorious solitude of being alone. Doing what they want to do, whatever and whenever they want to. Just like me, loving the quiet and peacefulness of being alone.



Alone but beautiful. Embracing the glorious solitude.




I'm part of Post A Day 2016

4 thoughts on “Embracing the Glorious Solitude

  1. Greetings from Carolina! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I enjoy the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I
    get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, amazing site!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

